Gastric emptying study

Hello everyone! Today I had something called a “gastric emptying study” which involves eating a radioactive tracer mixed into hospital-grade scrambled eggs, a piece of bread, and a small cup of water. 

Not exactly the first meal I would imagine I’d be sharing on a blog emphasizing a love for food.

The purpose of this study is to see how well my stomach digests food. It requires fasting at least 6 hours beforehand. It comprises of a series of imaging tests done at 1-, 2-, and 4-hour intervals. I’m free to leave the facility during the down time, so I decided to spend one of the breaks at Costco.

This is genius marketing. I bet it’s delicious, but the name alone would get me to buy it.


I took a few nutrition classes in college but I’m not understanding how 21g of protein is 26% daily value in the vanilla product and 42% in the peanut butter product. Any nutrition nerds have a clue?

(If anyone’s curious, I ended up choosing peanut butter. I’ve inherited a lot of things from my dad, and a love for peanut butter is one of them).

Cheers! Nicole

4 thoughts on “Gastric emptying study”

    1. How awesome! It was a lot simpler than I thought it’d be. I have a lot of respect for our techs – so knowledgeable and friendly. ๐Ÿ‘Œ

      Like

Leave a Reply

